The Florida DMV keeps a detailed personal driving history for all residents with a license. Below you’ll find all the information you need, from what your driving record contains to why it is important to stay up to date on what is being reported on your record.
What is on my Florida driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your Florida driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal FL driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, it will contain:
- Where and when an official Florida driver’s license was issued.
- Previous traffic violations.
- Florida DUI reports.
- Florida driver’s license suspensions or revocations.
- Car accidents.
- Other major violations on record.
If you order your driving record through DMV.com, you will receive valuable information such as: violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record. DMV.com recommends ordering a copy at least every three years. Find out what is on your driving history report by filling out the form above to order a copy of your records.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Florida driving record mean?
Points found on an FLHSMV driving record are any infractions you have on your Florida driving history report. These infractions have different point values, and when they add up to a certain amount, your license will be revoked or suspended.
Infractions and point values that can be found on a driving record from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles are as follows:
- Speed violations resulting in an accident: 6 points
- Driving recklessly: 4 points
- Moving violations that cause an accident: 4 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident with damage of at least $50: 6 points
- Not obeying traffic control signals or devices: 4 points
- Attempting to pass a school bus that has stopped: 4 points
- Exceeding the posted speed limit by 15 MPH or more: 4 points
- Exceeding the posted speed limit by 15 MPH or less: 3 points
- All other moving violations not previously mentioned: 3 points
- Driving with an open container: 3 points
- Littering: 3 points
Taking a traffic school course can remove points from your record.
How do points against my Florida license affect me?
Florida residents may have their driver’s license suspended or revoked for receiving a certain amount of points in a given time period:
- 12 points within a 12-month period: 30-day Suspension
- 18 points within an 18-month period: 90-day Suspension
- 24 points within a 36-month period: 1-year Suspension
Traffic citation points or demerits, when added to your Florida driver’s license record, can cause your license to be suspended, can affect your employment status, and can raise your insurance rates.
How do I remove drivers license points from my Florida record?
In Florida, drivers cannot remove points from driving records once they have been put on a license. Points are preventable if you choose to attend traffic school course or take a defensive driving course before they are added to your drivers history report.
Once you complete a state-approved traffic school course and submit proof to the clerk of court, the points will not be added to your DMV driving record. For a list of state-approved traffic school courses click here.
How long do points stay on my Florida driving record?
Florida driver’s license points remain on your record for three years and cannot be removed for any reason before that time period is up. On the other hand, different violations and infractions in FL may carry different penalties.
In any case, whatever the point value of a citation may be, if it ends up on your license, it will remain there for the same length of time.
Florida DUI Records
DUI criminal records are found in a driving record received from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. In some cases, you may need your DUI arrest records in order to take a driving course or to find out if an older incident has been removed from your driving history.
How do I know if my Florida driving license is suspended?
Drivers can check their drivers license status by ordering a copy of their driving records. When you purchase a driving record, this allows you to see if your license has been suspended and for how long.
Previous Traffic Violations
Florida drivers can check for previous traffic violations on their DMV driving history. Speeding, running red lights, or not using your turn signal are some of the violations included in this report.
On your personal driving history report, seeing what infractions are still on your record will help you manage traffic tickets you may have not paid. When ordering a report from DMV.com, you can see any moving violation convictions.
Why do I need a copy of my Florida driving record?
Obtaining a copy of your driving record will provide you with the information necessary to be prepared for several different scenarios such as checking points on your record, applying for a commercial driving position and even getting cheaper car insurance.
Check for Points in Florida
The most common reason for requesting a copy of driving records is to check for points on a license. The FLHSMV’s driving records provide this information to you. It is important to drive safely and obey all traffic rules and regulations. If you received a traffic infraction on your license, you can check to see how many points you have and how close you are to having your license suspended.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Florida
Your personal driving history can affect employment opportunities involving driving a vehicle. The safety of the public is the responsibility of a business owner, which is why they will check your driving record before continuing with the hiring process.
A personal driving history record might reveal instances that would cause a potential employer to reject an application. For that reason, all commercial drivers should order driving records before an interview. After receiving your driving background check, you can address any issues or offer an explanation during your interview with your future employer.
Lower Florida Car Insurance Premiums
Auto insurance companies use a variety of data to determine your premium. Having more traffic violations or accidents on your Florida driving record will increase your premiums, since insurance companies will see you as a high-risk driver.
Fixing any mistakes on your personal driving history before you apply for auto insurance can help lower your monthly cost.
Take Florida Traffic School to Prevent Points
Attending traffic school in Florida has a few benefits. The first is that your auto insurance cannot be cancelled and your premiums cannot be raised. Secondly, completion of a state-approved traffic school course will prevent points from being added to your driver’s history.
In any case, you must submit a certificate of completion to the clerk of court in the jurisdiction where your citation occurred.
Why do employers check Florida your driving record?
If you are applying for a job that requires driving, such as a salesperson, inspector or delivery worker, many employers require an employee driving history report. Companies who also work in an office sometimes still require a driving record check since there are occasions when their employees may need to drive to projects, conferences or job sites.
If an employee is involved in an automobile accident, and is driving during work hours for the company, the employer would have to pay the medical bills, the costs of repairing or replacing damaged vehicles and property, as well as potential lawsuits from third parties. By obtaining a copy of a potential employee’s motor vehicle record, this can rule out any unsafe drivers.
How do I get my Florida driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the Florida DHSMV. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
Different Types of Driving Records
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles offers four variations of driving records. How deep into your driving history you would like to go will determine which report you order.
3-Year Driving Record
The DMV 3-year driving record is the shortest report option available. Most demerit points will be expunged from your license within a three-year driving record timeframe so it is primarily used to check a license status.
7-Year Driving Record
A driving record is also available in the form of a seven-year driving record. A DMV 7-year driving record is helpful for individuals looking for older records for a court case and in other instances requiring more than a 3-year driving record can offer.
10-Year Driving Record
Employers screening potential employees, or individuals involved in civil suits, may need a 10-year driving record to perform a thorough examination. All the driving information from the past 10 years can be found in the ten-year driving record.
Complete Driving Record
All of the incidents from the date you first received your Florida driver’s license until the present will appear on your DHSMV complete driving record. If there is information available from other states, then it will also be part of your full driving record.
How do I fix a mistake on a Florida drivers history report?
After ordering a copy of your driving record, if you find a mistake, you need to contact the Florida DMV to address these issues. It is not common, but you may find violations or points that have expired, or incidents that should not be on your driving history to begin with.
If you find an issue with your Florida driving history, you should contact your local DMV office, and they will direct you to the proper department.
What is not included on my Florida driving record report?
Potential employers or insurance companies may require additional information than what is found on your Florida drivers history. DMV.com has set up resources to allow you to obtain the following information for your records:
- Background checks
- VIN Checks
- Police record report
Florida Vehicle Registration History
Vehicle owners in Florida can get a vehicle registration history as part of their driving record. This shows all of the vehicles you have owned and/or registered in Florida. While you may recollect all the vehicles you registered, there may be a situation that you must show proof.
Driving Record Fees in Florida
A 3-year driving record in Florida costs $8, whereas a 7-year record costs $10.
Driving Record Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
Last updated on Wednesday, October 14 2020.
- How do I obtain my driving record (abstract)? from FLHSMV.gov